I am from

I am from crystal glass teacups reserved for visitors,

From Kericho Gold and Supa Loaf,

I am from the wide cooled veranda

(Protected using white grills cleaned with Jik religiously every Saturday to prevent a burglar from entering or worse the hyper child hurting herself )

I am from the osuga  in the backyard garden,

It has an astringent taste, cooked using ghee and milk. It has a gooey feel.

I am from nyama choma on Sunday evenings,

I am from Aunty Dee and Uncle Jumbo 

From Mama Marvin and Daddy,

I am from the deras on weekends and Ramogi FM every evening,

I am from “ Kung’ dhogi nyathina”  to “Michelle utaumia.”

I am from “Nyasaye ruoth” during funerals,

I am from Nairobi and Kano,

From beef samosas only made when mom is on leave and nyoyo on Sunday afternoons,

From dad and his obsession with trees, spending every weekend in touch with nature, 

The beautiful coast side of Dar Es Salaam that mom spent her early childhood,

From Eddie’s love for milk which he takes more than water,

From leatherbound moments captured before I was born and our childhood, portraying the numerous lives we have lived. 

With moments of mom holding my hand to ensure I did not injure myself. 

From moments in Embu, Murang’a, and Nairobi. These keep home in my heart.

Leave a comment